Project Team
  • 03 Jan 2024
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Project Team

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

A user who has access to a particular project and is permitted to contribute to its data, tasks, and annotations is known as a project user. Project users can have different levels of access and permissions, derived from their granted role. For example, an Annotator can view and annotate data, while a Developer can train machine learning models or manage the entire workflow.

Project Team - Organizational Context

Users added to a project can have one of the following organizational contexts:

  1. From the owning Organization, an Org-member is added as a developer of the owner to one or more of the projects owned by the organization, or they can be ORG-Workers, added as annotators to the project.

  2. Users invited to the project who do not have any organizational relationship. For example, freelance annotators.

  3. Users from a service company, typically a labeling-service-provider - an annotation manager added from such labeling organization, will then be able to add to the project users (for example annotators) selected from their organization.

User Roles Hierarchy 

Roles are predefined sets of permissions that are assigned to users or groups based on their responsibilities and access requirements. Roles help streamline permission management by grouping similar permissions together. You can add your users to the project with one of the following roles:

  • Project Owner: This role has all permissions. A project owner can create projects, manage datasets, manage storage drivers, assign users, change roles, export data, and more.

  • Developer: A developer can manage datasets, storage drivers, set recipes, create tasks, and export data within a project.

  • Annotation Manager: An annotation manager can create annotations or QA tasks, redistribute and reassign these tasks to annotators, as well as review their tasks, view datasets, etc.

  • Annotator:  An annotator can only work on annotation and QA assignments that are assigned.


20e32b1-projecthierarchy.jpg


Roles and Permissions

The permissions granted in the Dataloop platform to the various user roles. Roles and permissions offer the advantage of restricting annotators from accessing the actual data and undertaking actions, such as altering the labels list or deleting any data.

Action/Role

Annotator

Annotation Manager

Developer

Owner

Create annotation

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Delete annotation

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Edit annotation

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Create a task

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Rename a task

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Open an issue

Allowed only on QA tasks.

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Approve an issue

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Add users

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Edit users

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Delete users

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Changing role

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Delete a task

Forbidden

Allowed. Only the tasks
created by the same user.

Allowed

Allowed

Upload an item

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Rename an item

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete an item

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Move an Item

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create a folder

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete a folder

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Rename a folder

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Move a folder

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create a dataset

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete a dataset

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Rename a dataset

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Edit labels

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create Recipes

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Update Recipes

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete Recipes

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Clone Recipes

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Rename a Project

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete a Project

Forbidden

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Install/uninstall pipelines

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create Pipelines

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Edit Pipelines

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

View Pipelines

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

View Storage Drivers

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create Storage Drivers

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Update Storage Drivers

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Delete Storage Drivers

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

View Datasets

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Create Datasets

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Update Datasets

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

View Datasets

Forbidden

Allowed

Allowed

Allowed

Add labeling company

Forbidden

Forbidden

Forbidden

Allowed

Adding New Users

  1. Click Add Users from the project dashboard, or navigate to the Team page and click on Add Users & Groups. A popup window is displayed. 

  2. Enter the email ID of the user.

  3. Select a permission Role from the list.

  4. Click Add. A confirmation message is displayed.

You can also import users to the project:

  1. From the Team page, click the Import icon.

  2. Select the Download template file from the list. A CSV template file is downloaded. 

  3. Add the required information to the downloaded template.  

  4. Once your CSV file is ready, Click the Import icon again and select the Upload file from the list and upload the CSV file. 

Once added, new users will receive an email notification with a link to the selected project. To access the project, click on the link and sign up.

Managing Users

From the Team page, identify the user from the list or search by name, email, or role from the search field.

  1. To change their role, click on the Role dropdown and select a new role from the list. 

  2. To remove users from the project, click on the Delete User icon and confirm the deletion. 

To view the user's analytics data in this project, click on the User Analytics icon. An Analytics page is displayed.

Labeling Companies / Service Providers

The Dataloop platform formalizes collaboration with labeling firms and other service providers. Also, it is possible to work with multiple labeling companies simultaneously while separating your work from theirs.

Adding a labeling company


To add a labeling company either use the Project Overview or Team page. Only a Project Owner role can add a labeling company.

From the Project Overview page: 

  1. Click on the dropdown icon of Add Users and select Add Labeling Company from the list. A popup window is displayed.

  2. Enter the Name of the labeling company. 

  3. Enter the Admin Email Address of the labeling company. 

  4. Click Add. A confirmation message is displayed.

From the Team  page:

  1. Click Add Labeling Company. A popup window is displayed.

  2. Enter the Name of the labeling company. 

  3. Enter the Admin Email Address of the labeling company. 

  4. Click Add. A confirmation message is displayed. 

  • If the user does not yet have an account on Dataloop, they'll need to signup first.

  • If the user is part of more than one Organization on the dataloop platform when accepting the project invite and connecting to the Dataloop platform with the project as their active project, their current active organization will be registered as the labeling company.

Labeling Company Users Management

The first person added as an Annotation manager from the labeling company, is displayed in the context of that company. Their view, and the view of anyone else added later on from that labeling company, is limited to the boundaries of the labeling company. They cannot view and are not aware of any other users to the project.

Adding Users from the Labeling Company

The annotation manager or any other annotation manager later added to the labeling company entity in the project, can add users from their organization to this project. To add users: 

  1. Click on Add Users & Groups from the Team page. A popup window is displayed.

  2. Enter the Email ID of the new user and press the Enter.

  3. Select either an Annotator or Annotation Manager role from the list.

  4. Select the Labeling Company from the list. You can add these users only to the labeling company.

  5. Switch to the Groups tab to import a group of users from your organization. This allows you to make changes to the group in your organization, and these changes reflect in the project team, as accordingly in any task this group is added as assignees.